MINUTES TEXAS GIRLS COACHES ASSOCIATION

Sunday, March 4, 2007 Location: UIL Building 1701 Manor Rd. Austin, Texas

MEMBERS PRESENT

Sam Tipton, Executive Director Leland Bearden, Sr. Reg. 1 Alex Koulovatos, President Terry Lowrey, Jr. Reg. 1 Debra Manley, 1st Vice President Rodney Gee, Sr. Reg. 2 Lee Grisham, 2nd Vice President Fran Campos, Jr. Reg. 2- absent Leann Johnston, Past President Derrick Osborne, Sr. Reg. 3 Jason Roemer, Volleyball Committee Chair Kit Kyle, Jr. Reg. 3 Susan Brewer, Volleyball Committee Vice Chair Janie Litchford, Sr. Reg. 4 Lynn Pool, Basketball Committee Chair Linda Godwin, Jr. Reg. 4 Brian Legan, Basketball Vice Chair- absent Donna Benotti, Sr. Reg. 5 Tim Torres, Track Committee Chair Susan Willis, Jr. Reg. 5 Steve Golemon, Track Committee Vice Chair Heather Sanders, Sr. Reg. 6 Mike Ledsome, SB Committee Chair Loyd Morgan, Jr. Reg. 6 Michael Franks, SB Committee Vice Chair Rodney Vigil, Sr. Reg. 7 Stefani Shortes, Sub Varsity Committee Chair Rene Garza, Jr. Reg. 7- absent Heather Van Noy, Sub-Varsity Vice Chair- absent Jim Eubanks, Sr. Reg. 8 Jan Newland, Jr. Reg. 8

This meeting was called to order by Alex Koulovatos, (Burkburnett H.S.), President of the Texas Girls Coaches Association.

Approval of Minutes

A motion was made by Leland Bearden (Smyer High School) to approve the minutes and seconded by Janie Litchford (Frisco High School).

Motion Passed.

UIL Report

Report presented by Dr. Charles Breithaup (Athletic Director) and Rachel Harrison (Athletic Coordinator)

Financial Report

Sam Tipton, Executive Director, presented the financial report to the board. Motion was made by Leland Bearden (Smyer High School) and a second made by Kit Kyle (Marcus High School). Motion Passed.

Travel Report

No report

Itinerary Report

Sam Tipton, Executive Director, presented the itinerary report to the board. Motion was made Rodney Vigil (Roosevelt High School) and a second made by Kit Kyle (Marcus High School). Motion Passed.

Executive Director's Contract

A proposal was made by Jan Newland, (Bangs High School), to extend the Executive Director's contract to one additional year and 2nd by Donna Benotti (Cy-Fair High School).

Motion Passed.

A proposal was made by Rodney Gee (Eastland High School) was made to give a bonus of \$2500 annually, to the Executive Director, payable in May. A second was made by Kit Kyle (Marcus High School). This is for work, Sam Tipton does during the legislative session.

Motion Passed.

Volleyball Committee Report

Jason Roemer, Committee Chair (Fredericksburg High School) proposed VB1. A second was made by Linda Godwin, (Pine Tree High School). This proposal is to allow unlimited nominations by the member coaches for the Volleyball All-State team.

Motion Passed.

Basketball Committee Report

Lynn Pool, Basketball Chair, (Austin Bowie High School), reported no new business. She congratulated basketball coaches on their seasons.

Track Committee Report

Tim Torres, Track Committee Chair (Lubbock Coronado) reported

A proposal was made, for Sam Tipton to work with UIL on writing a proposal to allow a "Wild Card" at the state track meet. A second was made by Leland Bearden (Smyer High School).

Motion Passed.

Softball Committee Report

Mike Ledsome, Softball Committee Chair (Plano West) said the softball committee had no report

Sub-Varsity Committee Report

Stephanie Shortes, Sub-Varsity Committee Chair (Frenship High School) said the sub-varsity committee had no report

Executive Committee Report

Proposal EC1 by Leann Johnston (Tyler Chapel Hill), second by Donna Benotti (Cy-Fair High School) This proposal would allow the TGCA to move from a hard copy of the newsletter to allow members to get newsletter through the TGCA website.

Motion Passed.

A proposal was made for coaches to be an All Star coach twice per sport. Head Coach, once and once for an assistant coach. The second was made by Leland Bearden (Smyer High School). Motion Passed.

2007 Summer Clinic

Debra Manley, 1st Vice President reported the clinic is going well and she still needs high school speakers.

Selection of Sportswriter of the Year

Tyler Clifton, Paris News was selected as Sportswriter of the Year.

New Business

Leland Bearden (Smyer High School) brought up discussion about the possibility of moving summer clinic to the Houston area. Sam thanked everyone for input on this topic.

Adjourn

Leland Bearden moved to adjourn. Kit Kyle seconded the motion.